About the course

Informatics and communications technologies now play a critical role in emergency and disaster response, and are a rapidly emerging area of research, bringing together areas as diverse as human computer interaction and data mining. The Informatics in Disasters and Emergency Response (INFODER) I400/I590 course covers the state of the art of informatics in emergency management and response, including social media, mobile apps, web, communication technologies, and predictive modeling. Students will engage in a joint class project of practical application in one of these areas, and will have a chance to interact with local emergency responders and managers

The course was last held in the fall of 2013 at Indiana University School of Informatics and Computing . Some of the materials used are archived here.

Instructors
David Wild, Lead instructor - email djwild @ indiana.edu
Varsha Kulkarni, Associate Instructor - email vskulkar @ umail.iu.edu
Scott Drichel, Project Director - email sdrichel @ indiana.edu

There is a companion Google Forum for discussion about the topics in this class.

To tweet about this class, use the hashtag #infoder, and also #smem for anything pertaining to social media in emergency management.

You might also like to check out the INFODER flyer.

Provisional schedule of classes

Tue Aug 27

Introduction to the class
David Wild

Thu Oct 24

Project Proposals
Thu Aug 29

Situational awareness
David Wild

Tue Oct 29

Hazmat Technologies (Field Trip)
Scott Fleck, Bloomington Township Fire Department SWOT
Tue Sep 3

Social Media in Emergency Management (SMEM)
David Wild SWOT

Thu Oct 31

Semantic Web and Emergency Response
Bart van Leeuwen, Amsterdam Fire Department and Netage. SWOT - Video (note video is from another presentation but covers same material)
Thu Sep 5

Crisis, crowds & online convergence: crowdsourcing in the context of disasters
Kate Starbird, Washington University. SWOT - Recording

Tue Nov 5

Hazard analysis
David Wild
Tue Sep 10

No Class

Thu Nov 7

Indiana University Emergency Operations Center (Field Trip)
Ken Long, Indiana University Emergency Management & Continuity
Thu Sep 12

Project Brainstorm

Tue Nov 12

Virtual Operations Support Teams (VOSTs) Cheryl Bledsoe, Emergency Manager, Washington State Emergency Management Association SWOT
Tue Sep 17

Crisis Informatics - challenges
Amit Sheth and Hemant Purohit, Wright State University SWOT - Recording

Thu Nov 14

Social Convergence and Emergency Management
Patrice Cloutier, Team Lead, Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services, Toronto SWOT
Thu Sep 19

Crisis Informatics - methods
Amit Sheth and Hemant Purohit, Wright State University SWOT - Recording

Tue Nov 19

What happens when the lights go out? Part 1 - resilient technologies
David Wild
Tue Sep 24

Visual Data Mining
David Crandall, Indiana University School of Informatics and Computing SWOT

Thu Nov 21

What happens when the lights go out? Part 2 - situational awareness and tabletop exercise
David Wild
Thu Sep 26

Radio communications in disasters
David Wild SWOT

Tue Nov 26

No Class - Thanksgiving
Tue Oct 1

DARPA Robotics Challenge (note link is 200MB PPTX!)
Kris Hauser, Indiana University School of Informatics and Computing SWOT

Thu Nov 28

No Class - Thanksgiving
Thu Oct 3

Human Robot Interaction in Disasters
Selma Sabanovic, Indiana University School of Informatics and Computing SWOT

Tue Dec 3

Project presentations
Tue Oct 8

No class

Thu Dec 5

Project presentations
Thu Oct 10

Project Discussion

Tue Dec 10

Project presentations
Tue Oct 15

Project Brainstorm

Thu Dec 12

Project presentations
Thu Oct 17

No class - project work




Tue Oct 22

No class - project work





Coursework

For more information about coursework, see the Coursework page

Other resources